9 Most Important Email Marketing Metrics to Measure

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Last Updated on September 17, 2021

An email marketing campaign cannot be termed as successful if you cannot measure it!

Once you have set a goal for your email marketing campaign, try to measure the important metrics that help you achieve your goals.

Most of the email marketing platforms provide these metrics which helps you to identify if your campaign is effective or not. These metrics can go beyond open rates, CTR, etc.

In this guide, we have listed some of the most common email marketing metrics you should focus on before launching your next email campaign.

Discover top email marketing metrics to focus on in your next email campaign

1. Deliverability Rate

Deliverability rate is the measurement of the number of emails delivered to your subscribers.

Though the delivery rate of your campaign looks good, there are chances that some of your emails land in the spam folder of the receiver.

How to Calculate Deliverability Rate?

You can be calculated the deliverability rate by dividing the number of emails delivered by the total number of emails sent in your email campaign.

Now, multiply the number by 100 to get the percentage.

For example, if you have sent 100 emails in a campaign and only 70 mails are delivered to the inbox, then the deliverability rate is 70/100 = 0.7 x 100 = 70%

Why is it important?

The higher the deliverability rate of the email campaign, the more are the chances of your email being noticed by the subscribers.

The deliverability rate highly depends on the email marketing tool you are using.

How to improve the email deliverability rate?

  • Use a credible IP address
  • Use a subdomain for email activity
  • Check your sender reputation

2. Email Open Rate

Email open rate defines the number of times the subscribers are opening your email.

Every email-sender platform will embed a 1×1 pixel in the email while sending it to the subscribers.

When the subscriber opens the email, the pixel gets fired, and an open event is recorded.

How to calculate Email Open Rate?

Email open rate is calculated by dividing the number of emails opened by the subscribers by the number of emails successfully delivered, multiplied by 100.

Email open rate = (Number of emails opened by subscribers/number of emails delivered) * 100%

Why is it Important?

Email open rate will highlight the effectiveness of an email subject line and the relevancy of your email campaign across different segments, which helps you understand the winning email copy.

How to increase the email open rate?

  • Use short and attractive and catchy subject lines
  • Schedule your email campaign after lunch on working days
  • Personalize your subject line
  • Use recognizable sender name

3. Click-Through Rate

Click-Through Rate (CTR) defines the number of times the links in your email are clicked by the subscriber.

Most of the email providers include the tracking code with the domain.

When the subscriber clicks the links in your email, they go through the tracking domain and reach the final URL.

How to calculate the Click-Through Rate?

Click-Through Rate is calculated by dividing the number of clicks on your email links with the number of emails delivered successfully, multiplied by 100.

Email click-through rate = (Number of email clicks / Number of emails delivered ) * 100%

Why is it important?

The click-Through rate helps in identifying the rate of engagement for your emails.

Though it does not add any monetary value to your campaigns directly, it helps you understand the email campaign’s quality.

4. Conversion Rate

Conversion rate is the number of subscribers who clicked on the links in your email and completed the required action like filling a form, purchasing a product, etc.

Though the goal behind conversion varies from company to company, it is the most important metric for every organization.

How to calculate Conversion Rate?

Conversion rate is calculated by dividing the number of actions taken on the email with the number of emails delivered successfully, multiplied by 100.

Conversion rate = (Number of actions on email / Number of emails delivered) * 100%

For example, if 100 mails were delivered and 20 users have completed the desired actions, then the conversion rate of your email campaign would be (20/100)*100 = 20%.

Why is it important?

Conversion rate is an important metric for anyone who wants to generate leads or sales for their business.

A poor conversion rate of email campaigns results in poor monetary output.

5. Overall ROI

Overall ROI defines the total revenue generated across all the email campaigns for the amount spent.

How to calculate Overall ROI?

Overall ROI is calculated as follows:

Overall ROI = ([Extra sales from campaign – Amount Invested in Campaign] / amount Invested in all Campaigns) * 100

Why is it important?

For the marketing team, this email marketing metric comes in handy, as it shows a clear picture of the revenue generated through the email marketing channel.

6. Bounce Rate

Bounce rate defines the number of emails that could not be delivered to the recipient’s inbox.

There are two kinds of bounce: hard bounce and soft bounce.

The hard bounce happens when the email is rejected permanently, whereas the soft bounce happens when the email reaches the subscriber but bounces due to his filled inbox.

How to calculate bounce rate?

The bounce rate is calculated as follows:

Bounce Rate = (Number of bounced emails / Number of emails delivered)*100

For example, if ten emails out of 100 delivered emails bounced, then the bounce rate is (10/100)*100 = 10%

Why is it important?

Bounce rate helps you understand the deliverability issues and enables you to understand if the email list is good.

7. Unsubscribe Rate

Unsubscribe rate defines the number of users who have opted out from your email list.

You can track the unsubscribers by attaching a unique code with each email.

How to calculate the unsubscribe rate?

Unsubscribe rate is calculated as follows:

Unsubscribe rate = (Number of users unsubscribed / number of emails delivered) * 100

For example, if ten people out of 100 successful emails will opt-out, the unsubscribe rate will be (10/100)*100 = 10%

Why is it important?

Unsubscribe rate helps you to understand whether your content is engaging and relevant for the audience or not.

It also helps in taking the subscriber feedback to improve your email content in the long term.

8. Spam Complaint Rate

The spam complaint rate defines the number of users who reported your email as spam either manually or by clicking on the link provided in your email template.

How to calculate the spam complaint rate?

The spam complaint rate is calculated as follows,

Spam complaint rate = (Number of spam complaints / Number of attempts made to deliver email) * 100

Why is it important?

Like unsubscriber rate, spam complaint rate also helps understand the quality of your email list and understand if the subscribers like your content or not?

9. List Growth Rate

The rate at which your list of email subscribers is growing is defined as the list growth rate.

How to calculate the list growth rate?

The list growth rate is calculated as follows,

List growth rate = ([Number of new subscribers – Number of users unsubscribed within a given time frame]/ Number of existing subscribers)*100

Why is it important?

List growth rate helps you reevaluate your email marketing strategies (if the list growth rate is poor).

Conclusion

These are common metrics one should look into before setting up an email campaign. Improving in all these areas will surely have a positive impact on your overall ROI.

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